Wed. Dec 8th, 2021

Domain Name Wire | Domain Name News
Domain Name Industry News
by — September 13, 2021 Podcasts 9 Comments
Previewing next week’s three domain auctions and great content.
Picture of Soeren von Varchmin withthe words "Namescon.online preview" and "DNW Podcast #354"
NamesCon.online kicks off next week, so I asked Soeren von Varchmin to visit with us this week for a preview. He explains the three (yes, three) auctions taking place and previews some of the sessions. Plus, we give away three free passes to the event.
Also: DropZone controversy, big .xyz sales, domain registrations #s and more
Sponsor: Sav Auctions
Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 28:51 — 23.1MB) | Embed

Subscribe: Apple Podcasts | Email | RSS
Subscribe via Apple Podcasts to listen to the Domain Name Wire podcast on your iPhone or iPad, or click play above or download to begin listening. (Listen to previous podcasts here.)
9 Comments
Wolfgang Möcklin says
September 13, 2021 at 11:48 am
I want the free pass !
Ravi sekhar Veenam says
September 13, 2021 at 12:41 pm
I want free pass.
Thanks Andrew.
Ravi
Jason Franklin says
September 13, 2021 at 12:49 pm
I want the free pass!!
Thank you Andrew!
Andrew Allemann says
September 13, 2021 at 12:51 pm
OK, all of the free passes are taken. Enjoy the show!
JamesA says
September 15, 2021 at 1:46 am
A note about the dropzone. I actually became a. Io registrar last year to dropcatch .io names myself instead of paying park.. Afilias uses dropzone with .io (they even call it dropzone too). of course that’s a cctld so they didn’t need icann’s permission but I think donuts could point to that as a model.
And I agree if icann allows it .com will probably follow shortly because it results in a much lower load on their epp servers because each registrar only has to send one register command per domain. Then they go back after the drop window and look at which registrar sent the first register command for each domain and award the domain to that registrar.
The result could really reduce the volume dropcatch/hugedomains is able to get because (at least how afilias implemented it for .io) each registrar has a small rate limit and everything becomes avalible at the same time meaning they really have to prioritize which domains to focus on with their limited connections.
Andrew Allemann says
September 15, 2021 at 10:14 am
James, can you help me understand how this lowers the EPP requests? I would think that registrars hammer the dropzone EPP repeatedly to try to get the first request in. Is the benefit the defined timing? (I also understand it’s a separate EPP instance, so registrars stop hammering the regular one.)
JamesA says
September 15, 2021 at 3:35 pm
So with the normal drop each registrar is having to keep making epp register requests until either it succeeds or they notice its created date has changed and the chance to get it is gone. With the dropzone each registrar sends one register command per domain. They all receive a “success” response if it’s a domain that’s dropping and during the time window. At the end of the dropzone time window the registry goes back and looks at the timestamps on the register requests and assigns the domain in the live system to the register who sent the first register command on the dropzone system for each domain. So basically instead of having to send repeated commands per domain each registrar only needs to send one command per domain they want. Which creates significantly less load on the registry so I totally get why they would want to do this. There’s still a benefit to having multipule registrars but it also somewhat levels they playing field for registrars because everything is dripping at the exact same second where currently for .com domains drop in batches making it easier for someone like namebright to come in and get more domains because it spreads things out so they only have to focus on one small batch at a time. With everything dropping at once prioritization plays a bigger role because you got a much larger inventory to try to catch with a limited number of connections. This can be further equalized by implementing tighter rate limits. For example with .io thr mail production epp system gives each registrar 60 simultaneous connections. The dropzone system only 3. Dropzonr also limits how many connections per minute as well. Limiting how many domains one registrar can get and spreading out thr inventory amongst more registrars I stead of consolidating it all with dropcatch and with namejet/snapnames registrars.
Andrew Allemann says
September 15, 2021 at 5:16 pm
Thanks for the info, that’s helpful
NR says
October 4, 2021 at 5:23 pm
Why is it, “NamesCon 2020 …”?
This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

source

Leave a Reply